Cheddar’s Casual Cafe

On the day of my birthday, May 13th, June got work off and my brother came down so we had a breakfast/lunch celebration before the dinner celebration at:

Cheddar’s Casual Cafe
21150 Katy Freeway
Katy, TX 77449
(281) 578-0593
www.cheddars.com

We shared the Triple Treat Sampler [a combination of beef, bean, and cheese nachos plus your choice of two others: loaded potato skins, crispy chicken tenders or mozzarella cheese sticks] | $7.99. We chose the loaded potato skins and crispy chicken tenders. The nachos were delicious. I wish there were more jalapenos though. The potato skins are very regular. I wish we picked something else. The chicken tenders are to die for. They were very juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside. I would definitely come back for the chicken tenders.

June ordered the Grilled Salmon [choose grilled, blackened or bourbon glazed salmon. Served on a bed of savory rice with two sides] | $9.99. She chose the salmon to be grilled and ordered a side of mashed potatoes and coleslaw. She liked it a lot. I tried the mashed potatoes. They were very moist and fluffy.

My brother ordered Shepard’s Pie [a complete meal of seasoned beef and vegetables in a savory sauce, classically topped with homemade mashed potatoes] | $7.29. I’ve never had Shepard’s pie before so I had to steal some from the brother. I loved it and want to go back to get some more. I would order more mashed potatoes on the side though because I felt there wasn’t enough.

I got the Fish Tacos [hand breaded, fried, white fish in flour tortillas, with roasted corn slaw and cajun tartar sauce. Two tacos served with choice of one side. Fresh off the grill version - also available] | $6.49. I got the fresh off the grill selection and this was very delicious. I didn’t use the sauce though because it tasted funny and the fries were okay. Not that great.

I would come back here and get the Shepard’s pie or crispy chicken tenders. Yum!

Yard House

On May 4th all the Cantonese kids got together for a dinner which consisted of Nancy, Elaine, Henry, and me. We decided on:

Yard House
15900 La Cantera Parkway
San Antonio, TX
(210) 691-0033
www.yardhouse.com

It was happy hour time so everything on their Happy Hour menu was 1/2 off!!

Spicy Tuna Roll [seared rare ahi, avocado, edamame, cucumber with wasabi soy sauce] | ~$6

So good. I like that the roll isn’t the standard roll. This makes it so much easier to eat, in my opinion. If you are to try anything here, this is a definite need.

Classic Sliders | ~ $5

I always heard sliders are extra fattening then a regular burger but I thought to take that chance since it was almost the end of the year. It was very yummy. I really liked the bun. The fries were okay. I could do without them.

Ilsong Garden

On May 5th Trisha and I wanted to hang out once more before I had to leave for the summer. We decided on:

Ilsong Garden
6905 Blanco Road
San Antonio, TX
(210) 366-4508
www.ilsonggarden.com

First off I got the Kalbi [marinated beef short ribs] | $9.95. It was very delicious. I kind of wished I got more rice though. Sadly I had no leftovers which is weird cuz I always have leftovers. Guess it’s because they give you so little compared to other Korean restaurants.


They gave us side dishes. They weren’t that amazing.

I love Korean soup!! So I got the Soon Du Bu Chige [soft tofu with seafood soup] | $7.95. So good! But like I said before, I wish there were more rice. I was super full after the soup. Couldn’t finish it all.

I don’t think I’ll ever come back here again. Though the food is good, the price isn’t for the amount I get.

Trisha got Sperry’s for me for my birthday!! I wear them practically everyday for work.

Apple Crumbled Pie

I had a leftover pie shell from the Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie I made last time so since we were cooking with the girls, I thought to use it up before I left school for the summer. And since I had some apples, Apple Crumbled Pie seemed like the safest bet.

Apple Crumbled Pie

Ingredients:

     Pie:

  • 1 unbaked pie shell, 9-inch
  • 6 cups peeled apple slices
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp salt

     Topping:

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

Preparation:

  1. Fill pie shell with apple slices. Combine granulated sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt; sprinkle over apples.
  2. Combine topping ingredients until crumbly; sprinkle over top of pie. Bake at 400° for 45-50 minutes, until apples are tender and topping is browned.

Again, no walnuts or pecans were added since someone could be allergic. It came out really juicy and I loved it. I left it there for them to eat. Not too sure what happened to it.

Deviled Eggs

Is it weird to say I’ve never eaten a Deviled Egg before … until age 21? As sated in the previous post of happy cooking with friends, my friend Isabel made Deviled Eggs. We had a lot of eggs leftover and didn’t want to waste them. Yes, again I didn’t make this but I was there, I helped. It has to count for something. And must I say, so delicious! I can taste the fatness run through my veins.

Deviled Eggs

Ingredients:

  • 3 large eggs, hard boiled
  • 2 Tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1/2 tsp yellow mustard
  • 1 dash pepper
  • paprika

Preparation:

  1. Hard boil eggs and cut eggs lengthwise into halves.
  2. slip out yolks and mash well with a fork.
  3. Mix in remaining ingredients.
  4. Fill whites with yolk mixture, heaping it up lightly. (Some opt the piping bag method.)
  5. Dash on paprika on top.

Paprika is put on for taste so you can put on as much as you want. I love a heaping full. Also, people tend to put relish on theirs. I love mine with relish., This is such an easy recipe. But got to watch the waist line …

Corn Casserole

My friends and I had a get together and we made a lot of foods. I’ve made this dish before but it was before this site. My friend, Yelena, actually made it this time and it was oh so delicious!

Corn Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 2 boxes Jiffy Corn Mix
  • 2 cans whole corn, drained
  • 2 cans sweet creamy corn
  • 1 medium container of sour cream
  • 1 stick butter
  • grated yellow cheese

Preparation:

  1. Melt the stick of butter in the microwave. Put all the ingredients together except the cheese and mix together.
  2. Butter a 9×13 inch pan. Pour batter in and put into a 375° oven for 45 minutes, uncovered. (Look at it like a cake to make sure it’s done. 5 minutes interval if needed.)
  3. Once it’s done, remove from the oven and put cheese on top and cover with foil. Let it sit. The cheese will melt with the heat. If you’re leaving it out, keep the foil on top.

There’s a really bad picture down below of the product but I promise it’s delicious! Try it with other vegetables like broccoli. It’ll taste just as yummy!

Z’Tejas Southwestern Grill

On the weekend of the 17th of April, my brother and Tammy came down along with my sissy. Too bad my sissy left before we went to eat delicious food at:

Z’ Tejas
15900 La Cantera Parkway
San Antonio, TX 78256
(210) 690-3334
www.ztejas.com

We all shared the Tejas Trio [fresh chips, hand-hacked guacamole, chile con queso with chorizo and salsa picante] | $9.75. The guacamole was my favorite but they gave so little of it. Wish I ordered the guacamole where they make it in front of you. Would of gotten more.

You get a choice of freshly baked muffins or cornbread. I was a little iffy about cornbread (not a big fan) and insisted on muffins but they wanted Cornbread so cornbread we got. Surprisingly it’s the best cornbread I’ve ever had. I would come back for this!

For my main dish I got the Huevos Rancheros [eggs cooked over easy, with Jack cheese, salsa picante and sliced avocado, served with pureed black beans, flour tortillas and home-fried potatoes] | $8.95. The meal itself was very delicious. Only thing I was unhappy about was how they put tortilla chips at the bottom of my eggs, etc. It was super soggy and made it chewy and soft. The potatoes was really delicious though.

I would come back here to try other things. It’s a very simple menu but it’s perfected.

C25K: Week 5

I’m proud to say that I’ve started Week 5 yesterday. I’ve checked around and it seemed like there are different number of weeks depending on which C25K you chose. My so happens to be 9 Weeks total. Bummer. The other one I found had 8 Weeks but the runs seems to be longer. Guess it’s a good thing I found the one with 9 weeks!

On Wednesday of last week, aka halfway through Week 4, Sissy, Mum, June, and I went to Charming Charlies. I bought myself some rings to congraulate myself. I never thought I’d be able to run the way I have been running. Usually I give up because I cannot do it or because I’m simply just lazy. Me making it to Week 4 meant something to me so I just had to buy something.

Last night’s run consisted of Warm Up 5, Run 5, Walk 3, Run 5, Walk 3, Run 5, Cool Down 5. I almost gave up running on the last one because my calves and shins hurt so badly. I really need to find running shoes that are right for my feet. (These are too big on me and doesn’t have arch support. Ouch!) But I’m proud to say I didn’t give up and made it through.

Tomorrow’s run is going to be a little tougher. Warm up 5, Run 8, Walk 5, Run 8, Cool down 5. Eeep. I know I can do it.

I’m already coming up with a list of stuff I would want to buy when I get to Week 8 and Week 9. Got to reward myself with hard work, right?