Turquoise Grill

The day after my birthday, May 14th, I had a few friends celebrate with me. I’m not much of a birthday celebrator of my own birthday. Growing up it was only family celebration and that was it. Other kids had birthday parties with other kids … not me. I decided on:

Turquoise Grill
3701 Kirby Dr #160
Houston, TX
(713) 526-3800
www.tghouston.com

They gave us a plate of Olive Oil & Herb Mixture for dipping. Mmm yum! I made sure not to eat a lot of this so I can enjoy my meal much better.

This is the Shepherd’s Bread it came with for dipping. The bread was really fluffy and I couldn’t get enough of it. But like I stated before, I had to keep my tummy empty for my meal.

I ordered the Hummus [garbanzo beans pureed with tahini paste, lemon juice, and garlic] | $4.75. I forgot to take a picture. 😦 But it was surely delicious. It was more grainy than smooth but I didn’t mind that. I shared it with everyone at the table so that I wouldn’t be eating a lot before the meal.

My main dish: Adana Kebab Platter [world-famous blended mixture of spicy ground beef and ground lamb tucked on a flat shish and grilled to perfection. served with our homemade lavash flat bread, bulgur pilaf and piyaz (Turkish bean salad)] | $10.95. That’s the price I paid but online it says $13.50. Hmm … I’m not sure why. Maybe the prices have changed since then. I don’t see the bread on my dish and don’t remember having it. But this dish is worth the money. The beef and lamb is very moist and soft and the whole dish is really filling.

The price is pretty high compared to Pasha’s Mediterranean Grill so I think I’d rather stick with Pasha’s. It’s still my favorite Greek/Mediterranean place.

We went to Little Woodrow’s afterward for a beer. My friend, Michelle, bought me a mug of Blue Moon. Yum! The other mug full is hers. I believe she got XX.

Leave a Reply

