Happy Daddy Day!

So before I begin reviewing all the places we went and all the happenings I just wanted to tell a quick story. Ready?

As I told y’all before, my sissy is off with Brett, her bf, to Colorado for a wedding then heading to Iowa for another wedding. Anyway, I woke up from a weird picture text of purple, yellow, and blue bouquet.

What you caught the bouquet?! They’re soo pretty!!

It hit me in the face!

haha of course, only her. She never told me if she meant to catch it or not but if it’s meant to be, it’s meant to be. 😉  I told my mum what happened and she laughed her butt off.

I wish I could put the picture of the bouquet on here but I can’t get pictures out of my phone but do believe me:  They were gorgeous!

Okay back to our regularly scheduled program:

So obviously .. Happy Father’s Day!! My dad got this day off work so we can celebrate and have family time. Sissy was gone, brother was in Dallas so all that was left was me, mum, and June. Since our dad’s birthday was just a few weeks ago (June 3rd) we always buy a big present for his birthday and nothing for Father’s day. We got him a new laptop. He loves it and uses it daily.

For breakfast/lunch we went to:

Dim Sum King
9160 Bellaire Blvd #B
Houston, TX 77036
(713) 270-6788

Um .. not quite sure why it’s #B .. that’s not even a number but oh well. That’s what it says.

This is everything we ordered. Top to bottom. I’m not sure what they’re called in English but we ordered a total of 10 dishes. Mmmm … This place compared to other places is pretty good. They are clean for sure, though they have a small space. Especially in the front where people walk in, which is a bummer because when we do have to wait for seats we are packed sardines.

They have really great service. Wonderful service. Whatever we needed they got and didn’t mess up once. Applaud.

On the left is the breakdown of all the foods we ordered. I don’t know how they justify what is a small, medium, and large dish but oh well. If you wanted tea, it costs money so the adults drank tea while I opted out for water. Total came out to be $30.65 which isn’t bad for dim sum price here in Houston. Plus, it’s delicious! I would suggest you come here and try their dishes. I just wished they relocated to a bigger place. They would make so much more money!

After lunch June and I went into:

Yannick Cafe Bakery
9110 A Bellaire Blvd
Houston, TX 77036
(713) 773-2977

in the same shopping mall as Dim Sum King, while my parents went into the dvd/magazine store next door.

Look at the array of desserts they sell. Yum! And they are so beautifully decorated.

I decided on an Egg Tart | $0.80 instead. Can you say yum?! We only bought one … not all that stuff on the tray. Their crust wasn’t the usual crust. I felt it was made out of butter cookies. It had that taste to it and wasn’t flaky like usual egg tart crusts. Yum! I liked it a lot.

Then we headed into the store my parents were in and I came out with this:

Yeah … I’m Chinese and I’m letting it show. I still listen to Chinese music even though I emigrated here when I was like 4? Fluent Chinese speaker right here! Anyway, it’s Raymond Lam’s 2009 (?) concert. Yay! For $5.99. Cheap!! Yes! Score! I haven’t watched it yet but I will next week when I have time. I’m excited. My favorite song from him is on it.

For those that are Chinese and know who this is, I know you think he sucks but … we all have our opinions.

Since my dad and mum needed to get their eyes checked and get new glasses, June and I went to various stores to check out things.

One of the things we found was a tiny knitted hat. It’s so cute!! Don’t worry, I didn’t buy it.

We then went to:

Tapioca House
9104 Bellaire Blvd #B
Houston, TX 77036
(713) 272-6468

Two Milk Tea Tapioca | $1.99 + $0.55 (for large) please! The regular sized is June’s and the large was for me, dad, and mum to share. We got it with the tiny tapioca because I feel the large ones were too chewy. Mmm … yummy drink for such a hot, hot day. Sadly my mum got not a drop. Dad drank it all before she got out of the eye exam room. Whoops. She bought herself a little something, something later though so it all works out.

We went home to relax and unwind. Dinner was coming up. (Our family goes crazy eating when it’s a special day. Gaining back weight .. darn!)

After many, many hours, we went out for dinner at:

Le Lai Restaurant (They misspelled their own name … fail?)
9600 Bellaire Blvd Ste 103
Houston, TX 77036
(713) 988-6888

We got the Dinner for Four [Crab Mea Soup with Fish Maw; Salt Baked Chicken (half); Fillet of Sole (steamed) with Mixed Vegetable; Salted Pepper Squid; Garlic Vegetbale; Pan Fried Noodle with Soy Sauce] | $39.50.

Bad picture quality! Sorry! It was steamy everywhere. We ordered an extra Eggplant with Beef Clay Pot. Not too sure how much it costs but mmm .. yummo.

All the food was delicious.

They even gave us free dessert!! Yum but super fatty.

I would recommend this place but then something happened:

I found a piece of hair in my tea. Yuck!! I know for sure it’s not mine so it could be someone who was making the tea.

Disgusting.

Everyone came home doing their chores and such and now only my mum and I are awake. I love winding down after such a busy day.

I hope all of y’all had a good Father’s Day and those that don’t celebrate, that y’all had a good day! And weekend!!

Night!

One thought on “Happy Daddy Day!

Leave a Reply

