Almost There

Cheers! Me with my blueberry smoothie.

*Don’t mind my emo nails and sweaty self.

So much better tasting than last time’s smoothie.

Maybe it’s because I added peanut butter.

Peanut butter makes everything tastes better.

Oh and I added a dash more cinnamon. Yums!

C25K: Week 8 – 2nd to last run.

Warm up 5, Run 30, Cool down 5

As mentioned in the earlier post, I was sore all over, therefore scared to run.

Scared because I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to finish.

But knowing that if I got through today, I would be one step closer to the end.

I got on the treadmill – seriously who can run outside in this Houston heat?! – warmed up and ran and ran.

Somehow being sore actually helped me. I kept telling myself it’s all in my head. That I’m sore because I’m making progress.

Then a needle starts puncturing me on my left hip. What are you doing, hip?! You have 15 more minutes of running.

— I’ve realized that 15 minutes into any run, I tend to get tired and my mind plays tricks on me to get me to stop.

I did indeed finish and am happy to say that I ran a little faster and farther than last time. It’s still a sad, sad time but I am proud of it.

At least I’m getting out there (or in my case, on there) and running.

Afterward I even did some push-ups, sit-ups, and some arm movement things because I was so hyped up with what I have accomplished.

Mentally, I feel so dang good.

Physically, I cannot move. That’s always my favorite feeling.

This was what kept me going. — I tend to read quotes and look at motivating pictures before my scheduled workouts.

Visual aids get me going faster than someone bugging me to do it.

What do you do before a run to get motivated?

2 thoughts on “Almost There

  1. Sometimes I just mentally tell myself that it’s going to be a good run. This morning when I was running I kept telling myself over and over and OVER again that if I wanted to run faster I had to train faster… and was able to up the pace of the last mile before my cooldown mile. I tend to repeat motivating phrases in my head or turn on a really good song to keep my spirits up OR I read my favorite blogs to get motivated 🙂

    • I am always afraid that if I go too fast in the beginning it’s going to drain me so I go slower than I can actually go so … good idea. I’m going to up my pace on the last mile on my next run. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

