Kumori Sushi & Teppanyaki

Richard came into town to visit Jenny so yesterday we woke up and went to:

Kumori Sushi & Teppanyaki
700 East Sonterra Blvd. Suite 308
San Antonio, TX 78258
(210) 853 – 2001
www.kumori-sushi.com/home.html

The atmosphere was really peaceful. I’m actually do not remember what songs they were playing but the decorations were so simple. It was bright in there too because of all the sunlight shining through which is what I like. Better than restaurants with a romantic ambiance.

They started off by giving us a Miso Soup [a soy bean paste soup with scallions, mushrooms, bean sprouts, and seaweed] | free. If you were to order it, it would cost $1.79. It was really good. It’s such a simple soup but a lot of places tend to mess it up when they add a little of their “something something” so this was just perfect.

Jenny and Richard ordered the Hiyashi Wakame | $4.99. It’s pretty much a seaweed salad. At other Japanese restaurants they give you a about half a cup but this place piles it on! It’s amazing because this stuff costs a lot. Jenny and I have been thinking about buying a whole box to eat. We are in love with this stuff.

Our waitress then proceeded to give us some sauces. Let’s start from the top with the little tin tea pot: Lemon Soy Sauce (I couldn’t really taste the lemon but more of the soy sauce. Maybe I didn’t get enough? I don’t know. It was definitely not a favorite.), Hot Sauce (My favorite. The first time I dipped my sushi in there it tasted a little funky. Kind of sweet, kind of spicy. But after a few times, I got addicted. Please Kumori, teach me!), Spicy Mayo (This is like any other sauce they use for their sushi. It’s delicious, but I know it has to be fattening. Mayo? Come on! But we did use a bit of it.), and Eel Sauce (Theirs is kind of weird. It was very watered down. I’m use to the thick dark eel sauce from other Japanese restaurants. We didn’t use much of this.).


What’s this you ask? It’s so cute, right? I know!! This is the Hand Grenade [fresh sushi rice wrapped with shrimp and nori seaweed, topped with fresh scallop and spicy mayonnaise, baked and drizzled with our special sweet soy sauce] | $2.99. This was my favorite out of everything I ate that day. It costs a lot and I would probably need to order fifteen to get full but I would so go back to get just this! Oh, if it counts for anything, Richard said it’s his favorite too.

You can see Richard is already trying to cut through it. This is the Jalapeno Firecracker [fresh jalapeno stuffed with crab cream cheese, tempura fried and drizzled with our spicy mayonnaise and special sweet soy sauce] | $1.99. I actually did not get to taste this but Jenny kept saying it was very spicy so Richard had to finish it up for her. They said it wasn’t that great either.

The sushi started rolling out. First up, Fried Philly Roll [fresh salmon, cream cheese, and cucumber, tempura and topped with sweet soy and scallions] | $6.49. This tastes like a regular Philadelphia roll but fried. It was very good though. And I liked how the sauce made the fried part look like a zebra. Cute.

Next up we have the Fiji Roll [crab, cream cheese, tempura crumbs, tempura with spicy crab on top] | $7.19. I guess what made this so expensive is all the crab. It wasn’t the ones that were preserved but real crab. It was delicious. I actually liked this one better than the Fried Philly Roll.

The next two are ordered by Jenny and Richard. This one is the Plaza Roll [salmon, tuna, white fish and avocado, tempura and topped with masago, scallions, spicy mayo and sweet sauce] | $10.99. This was so worth the price. So much fish in one bite! Esp with the masago, it makes it amazing. I would buy masago by the bowl and just eat it there. Ha … only for the rich. I can’t do that.

The last one on the list is the Kalypso Roll [sashimi grade salmon, cream cheese, and crab topped with shrimp, avocado, and masago] | $7.69. I did not get to try this (they offered) but it seemed to be good. Richard seemed to like it a while lot. Sadly as you can see in the picture, I don’t see any masago anywhere.

This was a great experience. It was a real sushi experience. Usually when I get sushi I get a bento box or a sushi ship. This was something different. After this we went to watch The Green Hornet. I suggest you make it to the theater. It’s a great funny movie.

Leave a comment