Inaugural 2011 Houston Beer Fest

I was looking through my pictures on my camera and realized … I never put up my Beer Fest post! Whoops.

So here I am more than month later … writing it.

I’ve been wanting to go to my first Beer Fest since I’ve heard about it and when Houston was going to have one I begged my sissy, mum, and June to go everyone ignored me.

Then Groupon had a deal and sissy, mum, and I went! Whooooo!

IMG_4493

It was set at Hermann Square Park. This was the most worse place to have a beer fest!

IMG_4456IMG_4476

There were so many people there and not enough space to stand! There were security there that made people get out from standing in the pond. Um … come on! There’s no room to stand and it was freaking hot out, k? So in the end I think they gave up on that.

Each of our tickets came with 10 free drinking stubs! Sweet!!

IMG_4459IMG_4460

This was our first .. and our last beer tasting. I got a Fat Tire and it was delicious.

But by the time we made our way around to the other booths .. all the beer were out. All that was left were the usual beers that you drink when you don’t want to buy anything very expensive. The whole idea of a Beer Fest to me is to try things you never would so … a waste it was to me.

We ate a lot of foods though …

IMG_4467IMG_4475IMG_4479IMG_4485IMG_4489IMG_4490

Samosas, Asian food, pineapple drink, funnel cake, sausage on a stick, curly fries, and sweet tea.

We paid for all our food except for the teas. We used our tickets for the teas. We gave the rest of our tickets to some stranger that just came in. I hope he had more fun than us.

I understand this is their first ever Beer Fest here in Houston so I’m not mad at how it turned out. I just wished they thought this through more. They have to know that Houston goes crazy wild with drinking. And when you put it on Groupon or Living Social or any other site to help promote your event … you’re going to be getting A LOT of customers.

I hope next year it’ll be better. But now I can cross it off my Bucket List! and tell everyone I’ve been to an inaugural beer fest.Winking smile

I probably won’t go to one for a really long time here in Houston … maybe a few years when they know for sure how things go.

I know they’ll be having a wine fest though so … if you guys are interested, go check it out. It’s in September I believe and they should know how things go now.

Leave a comment