Day 5: Tung Chung + Buddha

IMG_7645IMG_7646IMG_7647IMG_7648IMG_7649IMG_7650IMG_7651IMG_7652IMG_7653IMG_7654IMG_7655IMG_7657IMG_7629IMG_7630IMG_7637IMG_7638IMG_7639IMG_7640IMG_7641IMG_7642IMG_7643

Woke up bright and early for Dim Sum with PoPo. Sadly Mum, Alva, and Vincent did not wake up yet. Kathy and I went to get seats first. After an hour plus later, the rest of them followed. Rachel was the last one to show up. This is most of the food but we ordered way more after.

Balls, more balls, eggplant, rolled up sticky rice with meat, some weird animal parts, squid, peppers with meat, shrimp stuff, more squid, pork intestine and belly, chicken, rolled up type of cake, more balls, more shrimp stuff, more chicken, chicken feet, Asian pancake, radish type thing, wonton, beef wrapped with noodle, egg rolls. Sheesh. So much food. They got a little happy.

The most disgusting thing I ate? Pork intestine and belly. YUM!

IMG_7658

Little kids playing with water that sprouts up from the ground in Tung Chung.

PoPo went on her own way and the rest of us went on a long subway ride to Tung Chung.

IMG_7662

The beautiful view in Tung Chung while we waited in line to buy tickets to ride cable cars to see Buddha in Ngong Ping! Open-mouthed smile

IMG_7667

All our tickets and what not.

Funny story: My cousin, Vincent, and I were fighting over who was to pay. Of course, I won. He did put in a few bucks … after we paid we walked to the gate and realized we didn’t get our tickets. We. Are. Dumb. Luckily my other cousin, Alva, heard the dude at the window yelling at us to come back so he got the tickets. Embarrassing. Moral of the story? Don’t fight to pay because in the end, you’ll forget your tickets and walk to the entrance and they won’t let you in. Smile with tongue out

IMG_7669IMG_7670

More pretty views. One of many. While waiting for the cable cars!

IMG_7678

Me in the cable car.

Here are some of the five bajillion that I took!

IMG_7695

IMG_7697

IMG_7712

We finally see Buddha!

IMG_7715

Vincent poking Buddha’s head. haha Then began our journey walking towards Buddha.

IMG_7720IMG_7728IMG_7726

Little kung fu fighters.Smile with tongue out And lots of cows that roam around eating grass. Along with lots of dogs that run wildly.

IMG_7730

Buddha is just a few steps away … up those stairs.

We stopped halfway so they could catch their breath. And so that we can take some pictures.

IMG_7739

I finally made it! Whoo. I had a little shortness of breath but that went away real fast. I guess I’m pretty much in shape? Winking smile

IMG_7741IMG_7744

Another couple pictures of the bajillion I took of the view at the top. People live here. That’s the reason for the dogs and such. But oh geebus, the air was amazing up here. So fresh and clean and a little windy. Just how I like it.

IMG_7750

Mum and I then ran up a few more steps and touched Buddha. Mission accomplished.

IMG_7752

But then I read the sign … whoops. Too late. I am sorry Mister Buddha, Sir, I didn’t know.

IMG_7766

Then we walked back down where we visited some of their shops and played with some of their things. Excuse my red eye and shiny face.

IMG_7770IMG_7785

On the way back, we sat in a cable car that had a glass bottom so we can see everything below us.

So green!! Trees everywhere … and water! Those two little dots are people … fishing.

IMG_7789

Then we went back to the subway station. I thought to share this with y’all …in vending machines here, they put things … not food. Here, you see headphones, phone cases, chargers, and other knickknacks. Fancy, huh?

IMG_7795IMG_7797IMG_7796IMG_7799

Then it was time for dinner. Hot pot it is. This time we went to Giant Seafood Hot Pot place. It’s all you can eat! You only get charged one per person but if you past the time limit they give you (I believe two and a half hours?) then they charge more but other than that … all you can eat set price of around $20 per person. Not bad. This is only the beginning. I got too busy eating to take pictures. Smile with tongue out

IMG_7798

I’m keeping this small because it might look gross to some of y’all but the white part you see is cartilage from I believe a pig? And you can eat it. Here, they call it crispy bone. Mmm so good!

Day 5 has been very eventful!

5 thoughts on “Day 5: Tung Chung + Buddha

Leave a comment