Day 14: Prowling the Streets of Taiwan

Woke up at noon because seriously after that long night of finding the right hotel … it was the right thing to do.

Mum and I went into a mall and had breakfast in a Japanese restaurant.

IMG_8256

The salad that came with our meal … taste like poop.

IMG_8257IMG_8258

Machata Green Tea. YUM! With sweet syrup.

I don’t know what Mum drank though. Looks gross. Winking smile

IMG_8259IMG_8260

Breakfast … I should say brunch … is served.

Beef with veggies and fish!

So good!

IMG_8263

Then we walked around and shopped and Mum wanted to eat Taiwanese Ice Cream. It’s with three different beans. I’m not a fan but it was still good. It’s shaved ice that is flavored so it tastes like ice cream.

IMG_8264IMG_8268IMG_8265

Fish balls, Duck tongues, more fish balls.

YUM! The fish balls on the stick definitely tastes better than Hong Kong. That’s because Hong Kong doesn’t have as much street foods as they use to.

Afterward, Mum and I were carrying way too much stuff so we went back to the hotel to drop it off and to cool off before having to meet up with Wilson.

IMG_8272

Some of the stuff we bought. Most of it is for family back in Hong Kong and back in the States. (Hey sissy, don’t show anyone! And you can guess what’s yours. Winking smile )

IMG_8276

We left early to grab a little bit of dinner. Another dog on the street that stays in his spot!

We were unsure if Wilson was going to eat with us or not so better safe then sorry.

IMG_8273IMG_8274IMG_8275

Mum’s coffee like usual.

We shared the fish cutlet with veggies curry with rice.

And got dessert of green tea ice cream mochi filled with red bean. So GOOD. Mum was not a fan though.

IMG_8279IMG_8280IMG_8281

After much more shopping, we met up with Wilson and he took us to eat Street Food. So excited! So happy.

IMG_8282IMG_8283IMG_8284IMG_8285IMG_8287IMG_8286

Snails
Smelly Tofu
Sausage on a Stick
Grilled Squid
Fried Chicken Nuggets
Frog Eyes aka Tapioca ball Drink

Mmm … I love street food. Everything tasted SO good. It really felt like I was in the Asian part of the world. Not the whole sitting in a restaurant type thing. Street food is where it’s at!

IMG_8288IMG_8289

Then Wilson took us to eat more Taiwanese Ice Cream.

Green Tea Ice Cream with Red beans and Mango Ice Cream with well … Mango!

So goooooood. LOVED the green tea!

We parted ways and said our farewells. It’ll be a few more years until I see him again and it was nice while it lasted.

Got back to the hotel and I read my book for a good four hours! Finished another novel. By that time it was 5am. I woke up at 11:30am … but we’ll save that for tomorrow.

After all the hotel stuff getting fixed, I realized Taiwan is a lovely place. There are still a lot of people in the streets but not as much as Hong Kong. And the people are super nice. I guess where we stayed was a touristy place so that can explain it but whenever we asked for help, we got it and some even walked us to our destination! The food is amazing and I found a lot of things I liked when shopping .. which rarely happens.

So yes. My thoughts on Taiwan changed. I’m in love and I would love to come back soon!

Happy Hump Day!

6 thoughts on “Day 14: Prowling the Streets of Taiwan

  1. Wow that all looks so good. I am seriously laughing at that dog. We did that last year with my golden retriever actually! I lived on Okinawa, Japan for a couple of years and we journeyed to Taiwain. I def wish I was older/more interested in food when I went! PS: Glad I found your blog!

  2. Taiwan is a great island to explore, it is alot different than many areas in SE Asia. What it lacks in beaches it makes up for in cuisine and culture.

Leave a comment