Day 2: The Past and The Future

This post would have been up already but … I ran out of juice on my laptop and I needed to buy a different plug so I can charge my laptop. Such a hassle.

IMG_7501

Mum, Kathy, and I woke up bright and early and had breakfast at this quaint little shop.

IMG_7505IMG_7504

I got the Fish Fillet Cutlet with Pan Fried Eggs. It comes with Napa Cabbage, a dinner roll and your choice of drink. I got the Yuan Yang which is coffee mixed with tea.

IMG_7508IMG_7506IMG_7510

Then I got my Octopus Card. We put money in it so that you scan your card before and after riding on the subway. It’s calculated by the number of stops and that would be how much you pay when you get off. You can also use the card as a debit card at some places so that’s good since I have zero money.

Kathy went off to work and mum and I started our journey.

IMG_7512IMG_7511

I am a Hong Kong citizen since I was born here but ever since I immigrated I never came and got my Hong Kong license when I turned 11. So I finally went and got it today. Took my picture and everything. I will have to go pick up the card in a few weeks. Excited! Smile

IMG_7518IMG_7516IMG_7521

Then mum and I went to where we use to live before immigrating. Sai Yeung Choi Street North. The last picture at the very top is where we supposedly lived.

IMG_7524IMG_7537

We saw a dog at the window in a restaurant. The restaurant wasn’t open yet but look at him. He. Does. Not. Move. At. All. He just sits there and watches people walk by!

Then we walked into a mall. We walked into a good 3 malls because that’s all you do in Hong Kong. Eat and shop. A little boring because I have no money to buy anything!

IMG_7525IMG_7530

We went and ate at a restaurant in the mall. They have cute little swings as chairs! I would want one in my backyard. Smile

IMG_7532IMG_7533IMG_7534

Mum ordered the rbt Beef Noodles in Soup and it came with a drink in which she got the kumquat lemonade.

I got the Smoked Salmon in Carbonara Thick Toast. I’m not a fan of the sauce. It tasted weird but my mum thought it was delicious. I think it was a waste of money.

IMG_7522

Snapped a picture of the gas prices. They definitely have cheaper gas … around $2 something.

IMG_7540IMG_7543

Mum then got a dessert. I’m not sure what it’s called but it’s with Mango, red bean paste, and crème freche. I took one bite and that was enough. Too dang sweet.

We then went to a bookstore in which we looked at books for hours on end. I ended up buying a gift for someone and a cookbook. I’m excited to cook some foods! We went to the mall, bought some things then headed home.

We waited for Kathy to get home for work then Mum, PoPo, and I met Kathy at the same place we had breakfast.

IMG_7547IMG_7548

I got the Lemongrass Pork Chop with Braised Pork Rice that came with a drink in which I chose the Lemonade Ice Tea.

They have this thing where you can order less rice which is what I should have done. I didn’t not finish everything. So filling.

I’ve realized Hong Kong people eat A LOT of carbs. Which I am not use to. I need my meat and veggies!

Afterward, we went back to the flat. The luggage man came around 11pm. I was so happy. I finally got clean clothes to wear. No more sticky sticky.

Second day was not filled with foods on my list but I am hoping to cross of all of them before I leave!

2 thoughts on “Day 2: The Past and The Future

Leave a comment